You are here

Awards & Honors

National and International Research Awards and Honors

  • Albert Nelson Marquis Lifetime Achievement Award, 2017 (from Marquis Who'sWho Publication Board): Subrata Dasgupta
  • Biographical Entry, Who's Who in America: Subrata Dasgupta
  • Biographical Entry, Who's Who in the World: Subrata Dasgupta
  • Biographical Entry, Contemporary Authors: Subrata Dasgupta
  • Fellow of Association for Computing Machinery (ACM): T. R. N. Rao (1996)
  • Fellow of Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE): T. R. N. Rao (1984), Bruce D. Shriver (1990), Harold Szu (1997), Magdy Bayoumi (1999), Nian-Feng Tzeng (2010)
  • Fellow of Optical Society (OSA): Harold Szu (1996)
  • Fellow of International Society for Optical Engineering (SPIE): Harold Szu (1994)
  • Fulbright Fellow: T. R. N. Rao (1986-87 and 1993-94)
  • IEEE Circuits and Systems Society Education Award: Magdy Bayoumi (2003)
  • IEEE Circuits and Systems Society Meritorious Service Award: Magdy Bayoumi (2009)
  • IEEE International Conference on Data Mining (ICDM) Outstanding Service Award: Vijay Raghavan (2005)
  • Khatri Memorial Lecturer: Vijay Raghavan (2015)
  • NSF CAREER Award: Hongyi Wu (2004), Dmitri Perkins (2005), Danella Zhao (2009), Miao Jin (2011)
  • Phi Kappa Phi South Central Region Scholar Award: Subrata Dasgupta
  • UL Lafayette Sigma Xi Outstanding Researcher Award: Subrata Dasgupta (1987)
  • Web Intelligence Consortium (WIC) Outstanding Service Award: Vijay Raghavan (2013)

University Awards

  • UL Lafayette Distinguished Professor: Bruce Shriver (1973), T. R. N. Rao (1984), Joseph Urban (1987), Subrata Dasgupta (1989), Magdy Bayoumi (1993), Nian-Feng Tzeng (1997), Henry Chu (2000), Vijay Raghavan (2001), Gui-Liang Feng (2003), Hongyi Wu (2011)
  • UL Lafayette Researcher of the Year Award: Magdy Bayoumi (1988)

Best Paper Awards

  • The Outstanding Paper Award of the 10th International Conference on Distributed Computing Systems (ICDCS): Nian-Feng Tzeng (1990)
  • The Best Paper of the Year Award of the IEEE Information Theory Society: Gui-Liang Feng and T. R. N. Rao (1994)
  • The Best Paper Award of IEEE Virtual Reality (VR) Conference: Dirk Reiners (2009)

Book Recognition and Awards

  • Subrata Dasgupta, Choice Selection as "Outstanding Academic Title for 2014" for It Began with Babbage (Oxford 2014)
  • Subrata Dasgupta, Longlisted for Vodafone-Crossword Award for Non-Fiction, 2011 for Awakening (Random House 2010)